Set an end date, deactivate the employee, and delete personal data when an employment ends.
Set an end date for the employment
Search for the employee, select About from the top menu, and then select Employment. Enter the correct end date and reason for ending the position. You can set an end date in the future.
Deactivate the employee
Before deactivating the employee, check that they have no open processes, such as ongoing sick leave, unprocessed absence requests, or process tasks.
After the position's end date has passed, you can deactivate the profile:
- Go to the action button in the employee's profile
- Select deactivate
Simployer distinguishes between an active employment or position and an active person or user. By default, the immediate manager is notified 14 days before the position ends. After the position has ended, you must deactivate the person manually.
A deactivated person is not visible to other employees or managers. Only a system administrator or HR administrator can find the person under My company → People → inactive.
If you do not deactivate a person who no longer works in the organization, the person can still sign in to the system. When you deactivate an employee, the employee also loses access to their document archive and can no longer sign in to Simployer.
Delete the employee's personal data
After you deactivate an employee, Simployer displays a message recommending that you delete sensitive data using the privacy client.
It may be practical to wait before deleting the data if the organization still has a valid purpose for retaining it, for example if the person may return to the organization.
Establish routines for using the privacy client so that the organization does not retain data about former employees when the employer no longer needs it.
To use the privacy client:
- Go to Manage → Administration → User administration → Deletion of user data
- Read the information page carefully
- Export any information about the person that is stored only in Simployer if the organization still has a valid purpose for retaining it
- Use the privacy client to delete the personal data
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article